Kids don’t understand Parent Humor

My daughter and I are sitting on the couch, finishing up a tv show. She has about an hour before bedtime, and has been bugging me. So just to get a few minutes of peace, I decided to just send her to go get ready for bed. 

Me: “Go get ready for bed please.”  BabyGirl: sighs and groans                        Me: “time to get ready for bed”, singing, “teeth and pajamas, teeth and pajamas, teeth and pajamas.”      BabyGirl: ignoring me                        Me: “Go put on your teeth and brush your pajamas.”

She turns and looks at me, as I am smothering a laugh

BabyGirl: “That’s not right.”
Me: “Yes, you need to go put on your teeth and brush your pajamas to get ready for bed.”                         BabyGirl: “I don’t need to put on teeth, I am not old, I am 8 and pajamas are clothes, Not hair.”       Me: starting to laugh, “Go get ready for bed now.”

img_8659

Leave a Reply

